lexxi

By lexxi

man without a song

I knew this guy would be here, in this spot. He is always there, tapping the guitar with his fingers, humming inaudibly and mournfully.

I had to go to kings lynn today to buy some shoes and handbags, but i also wanted a shot of this guy, so i promised myself i would take one image and leave him alone. I stood by that promise and only took one image of him. Feeling a little bit guilty, i popped into the music store on norfolk street, bought some strings and made the shop assistant promise to restring his guitar for me. They know him well, as everyone does. He did have a beaten up guitar, it was broken in half, held together by shoelaces, but he would still stand there tapping it, humming to himself. The image here shows his new guitar, which came from this shop, so i have no doubt the shop will honour my request.

I actually feel like sh*t now, we live in a society which allows old men to live like that? I dont know anything about the guy but im pretty sure he doesn't dress like that for the hell of it.

He has been a regular fixture on these streets for the past 10 years now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.