digitaldave

By DigitalDave

The comms cabinet

Apart from a walk in the damp drizzly rain, today has been another lockdown day short of any significant excitement or photo opportunities.

This afternoon I finally got round to completing the tidy up of the inside of the living room cupboard which has become the 'comms cupboard'. This is the result. I can't bear having untidy wiring!

For the nerds among you, a few months ago I installed Cat6 ethernet cabling in the house. This connects the router directly to the TV, TV recorder, the media player/internet radio downstairs, and the computer and network storage box (NAS) upstairs in the study. We still have wifi for our mobiles and a laptop, but a stable wired connection is preferable for everything else. It wasn't absolutely necessary, but I like a challenge so I did it. I sketched up a quick diagram in the extra just to complete my OCD project. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.