horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

One Year of Harris

One year ago today little Harris (Max in the shelter, though he has about 5 different names depending on what he's doing) came home with us. He's not so little now, I can tell you that for nothing.... One of the few positives of 2020 has been watching him grow from a teeny kitten that barely took up one hand (there's a photo in here of the day he arrived), into a floof monster with THE most ridiculous tail.
His wicked stepmum (15 year old Isla, a Tortie we also got from LCR just over 10 years ago) still isn't keen on him being around, but I swear Harris deliberately winds her up at times to get her to chase him.
Funny to think, now, that he was our backup choice. I'd volunteered for a day with work, and fallen in love with a little blue. I'd finally convinced Mel about the merits of getting a kitten (we knew Isla wouldn't accept an adult cat), but Bo the blue had been nabbed just an hour before we got there. Harris was there with two little ginger sisters, and his gorgeous Calico mum Bella (I check in every now and then to see if there's news of them specifically, mainly to see if the little girls' tails are as daft).
I fell for his inquiring wee face, and that was that.
I'll not lie, it hasn't all been plain sailing. Mainly due to Isla's initial reaction of hissing, growling, running out of the house, and refusing to come back in. She'll tolerate him now, but give him a bat to remind him who is the boss (though he's started batting back a bit). There were more than a few down moments early on as I felt I was losing Isla as my best pal (she's a total lap cat, but for two months went into total sulk, happily back to herself though).
Harris himself is living his best life. Loves climbing the trees in our back garden, head scratches as he lies upside down on your lap (fortunately also loves being brushed), standing on shoulders, sleeping in ridiculous positions, and he's going to eat us out of house and home (he still appears to be growing).
A total fixture in the house now, and I can only thank Lothian Cat Rescue for all they do for these wee cats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.