Australian grapevine moth

The larvae of this moth feed on a variety of plants including fuchsias, but what they find particularly yummy is grapevine, hence they are an agricultural pest.

In 1862 the Indian mynah bird was imported to manage a range of insect pests including this moth but it didn't work, as these things often don't. The Indian mynah has itself become a pest.

Back to the moth - it didn't like posing for me. First it was on the white cedar, then it escaped to the fire wheel tree. Then it wouldn't pose for me there either and it flew off. Then I gave up and went inside. Shortly after I went back out and there it was, still flying about, until it landed on the Hills Hoist. Lucky blipper me.

Please note the feelers.

Thanks for hosting LoisBiz. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.