London Bridge is falling down

Following on from my comments yesterday I knew it was Tuesday to day as I was awoken by the Bin Men emptying the rubbish for our Development. There was the unmistakeable sound of large bins being emptied into the Dust Cart.

As you know I have been following the COVID numbers and was fascinated by variety of numbers given yesterday for the number of people who have been vaccinated so far. This varied from 1.9m to 2.4m so its good to see everything is under control.

I am awaiting my invitation to get the Jab. I had hoped that the Front Line workers would be first priority but unfortunately are leaders look to have different priorities. So I now have a big question - will my invitation for the Jab be at the Centre that is less than a mile from my home or in the London Nightingale Centre which is almost 7 miles away and requires me to use public transport or walk for over two hours each way. Lets see what happens but I am not optimistic that the most sensible option will be chosen

Todays Blip was triggered by ChrisJepson Blip on the Alcoves of Old London Bridge posted 2nd Jan. I had never given much thought to the stonework around the Keats sculpture until now. So here is one of the three alcoves known to exist. I took the image using the PANO vertically to get the Shard in the shot. Someone has kindly left a table for Keats to write his poems.

The other images are the Coat of Arms that was located at Stonegate on the southern end of London Bridge. When London Bridge was widened it was removed and sited above the Kings Arms Pub in Newcomen Street near Guys Hospital.

The archway is from St Magnus The Martyr which formed the northern entrance to the original London Bridge.

Take care and stay safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.