simisue

By simisue

BLUEBIRD OF HAPPINESS

This tiny glass figurine was given to me by a friend, just before we moved to Arizona, many years ago.  It is a reminder that we carry our happiness wherever we go, even moving cross country into a strange, alien
land.  I embraced this simple idea & came to love Arizona & the desert.
It served me well during the 5 cross country moves that came after.
Each time, when I unpacked & found this little BLUEBIRD, &  it was a reminder:  happiness is a choice.

Today my guided meditation on the CALM APP involved holding a small object in my hand & offering  care to myself, others & even the TINY Bluebird I was holding.  I often say to friends:  "Take Good Care."  Now it is directed to me, & is another simple lesson that can be life changing. 

My daughter went to Trader Joe's for me today, then came for lunch.
I gave her a list, but she added wonderful surprises like potted daffodils & a package of Madeleine cookies. It felt like I won the lottery!  She brought her 
wild puppy, Ellie, who loves Angus; so, we took them for a long walk.  We had lunch & then she was off....

This is a terrifying time for us in the US, with COVID out of control; & our 
government under attack by murderous insurrectionists.  So any
kind gesture or reassuring thought is like a life raft.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.