atoll

By atoll

'Ave It

Now I'm going to sing,
A nice young lady fair,
I met some time ago,
At the corner of Albert Square.
She had a lovely jet black eye,
I thought I should like to own her,
For in a voice so sweet she asked of me
The way down to Pomona.

Down to Pomona (Manchester folk song)


I was teaching myself to use something called Pinterest and had set up my first online 'board' to host a number of 'pins' for both my work and research on my Pomona series. At one point I was trying to find a nice crisp photograph of one of the Victorian brass tokens used to gain entry to the old Pomona Pleasure Gardens there, when a Google search found one for sale on EBay - and with just an hour to go to boot.

Well I am a total sucker for anything serendipitous like this, and so (please don't tell MrsB) a little seductive voice pleaded "buy me". Net result, I am now £17 lighter and the proud owner of something both totally useless, and so full of real Manc history as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.