Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Screen time

Well, that wasn't much of a day. For a start, the weather was simply beastly - the light really didn't seem to get above twilight levels all day, and the rain only altered to become more serious and start hitting the front windows for a change. I can always tell things are bad when the front door is covered in rain ... And secondly last night's wabbit feeling persisted, resolving itself into what in normal times I would describe as a head cold, or at least the beginnings of one (very localised sore throat, mainly, and slightly stuffy nose). But how, I have to ask, do I catch a cold when I've not been with anyone outside the two of us? (Mr PB not having anything apparent to share in this direction.) I've not been in a shop for over a fortnight, and the last church service was over a week ago, and since then I've only seen the odd passing cyclist and a jogger or two ... Very odd.

In fact I've worked quite hard despite this. This morning saw a bunch of us from the two churches having a lesson via Zoom on ... hosting a Zoom meeting. We swiftly moved from the basics, like how to put a red spotty headscarf on your image (you can just make this out on the right of the collage) to screen sharing and breakout rooms, but I shall have to practise a bit before I can do the tech as well as the poetry teaching for my first online class next week (another church thing). 

The other two pictures above show aspects of my Duolingo course - I'm back in the Diamond League now, and have broken into a new set of lessons.Right now, I'm puzzling over what Abs.Ob.1might mean, as the examples I worked in the first lesson didn't seem to have any identifying feature to give me a hint. Duolingo tends to underline the fact that Americans and Brits are more divided by language than you might think! The top right photo shows my progress and the line of  ...gold plates? Medals? covered so far: every now and then one appears broken and requires some revision to mend it, which is quite satisfying and gets some relatively easy points. 

Having a day like this brings it home how tiring it must be to work from home and sit at a computer all day. But it also gave me time to browse through the BBC Online site, to read about the debate in the US about impeaching Trump (hurrah!) and about the idiotic people who are still denying there's any truth in the stats about Covid or its seriousness. What are we to do about them?

One last note of interest: This morning a friend sent me a link to a story about us - or people like us, people who post photos daily, who tell stories about their photos, who enjoy the support of the community and the incentive to get out to take the photos. Apparently it's really good for us. 

But we knew that already, did we not?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.