Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2209. Pearl January 14

These pearls belonged to my Mom and they have a funny (ish) story attached to them...my Mom and Dad had a burglary at their house years ago and these pearls were thought to have been part of the thief’s haul. My Dad interrupted them and chased a guy down the street and he dropped most of the stuff he’d taken and he was never caught. My Mom was gutted as she loved these pearls. They weren’t replaced but some months later Mom moved a large chair in the hallway to clean behind it, something she only did every so often because it was very heavy to move...but on doing so she found her beloved pearls under the chair...no doubt dropped by the thief whilst running away from my Dad!
Many years later after my Dad had passed away my Mom started to hide her jewellery around the house (even though she had a safe) as she was worried about break ins. She then simply forgot where she’d put them so they went missing for years. We searched everywhere for them but she never found them again. After she passed away one of her friends told me that she used to hide her jewellery behind drawers in her bedroom so when we cleared the house we decided to just double check to see if she had indeed done this...and lo and behold there they were in their original box along with some earrings that matched them! When my brother and sisters divided up her jewellery I asked if I could have them as I’d spent so long looking for them and my brother and sister were more than happy for me to do that! I love them and will always treasure them....and I will try very hard not to lose them again!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.