Pixelfoto's Journal

By Pixelfoto

Footprints in the Snow

We had a little more of the white stuff overnight but not enough to build a snowman. Footprints made by a bird (blackbird or pigeon) caught my eye as I looked outside.

I have had a very frustrating day. A friend wanted to update the firmware on his Olympus camera. Normally I would go to his house and hold his hand but this time we had to manage with telphone support. All went well except for the final part when the updater should have put all his settings back on to the camera. It didn't! So I had to spend another hour or more going through all the settings with him.

After lunch I decided to try (again) to renew my driving licence. Being over 70 it has to be done every 3 years. The DVLA have sent me the form which says it can be done on-line. When I tried yesterday to do it and got to the stage of completing all the details I got a message saying that 'Your licence is no longer valid and must be renewed. To do this the photo on your licence must be changed. It has not been possible to use your passport photo on your driving licence as DVLA must be able to confirm your identity online and your UK passport must be valid.' The paperwork says my licence is valid until 19/03/21 and my passport was renewed in July 2019 so there should be no problem. Maybe I put in the wrong information. This afternoon I decided to try again with Guy checking everything I entered. All was correct but I still got the same message. I tried the on-line chat but didn't get anywhere so then tried phoning the given contact number. All I got was a message saying that due to the pandemic there are not so many people available and that I should try the website. No offer of holding on, no queue or anything. I guess that tomorrow I will have to fill in the paper form and send it by post. There are dire warnings that it will take a lot longer by post than on-line! Hey ho, what a good job it is still valid for another couple of months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.