Gus and his offsider!

A very exciting day at Wombat Hollow today.  Finally the fencing side of the enclosure is complete, apart from the resident painter touching up a few bits and pieces here and there.  The enclosure is the creation of my friend Gus who is an absolute genius when it comes to all things in the building game.  He’s a giant of a man and to make things even better he’s a very proud Scotsman!  That will please my Scottish Blip Buddies.  

I have to share a story with you about Gus and his wife Chris.  Many years ago when I was selling real estate in the Blue Mountains, Gus and Chris asked me if I could show them some larger parcels of land in the Little Hartley, a rural area just west of Blackheath.  After showing them two or three properties they very gently told me in their broad Scottish accents that they really appreciated my efforts but they had decided they didn’t want a block that had any Rocks or Trees on it.  Now in Australia and particularly Little Hartley that was a big ask.  As luck would have it a few weeks later I had a call from a young woman who wanted to sell her block. To my absolute delight I discovered the fully fenced 5 acres didn’t have a rock or a tree on it but it did have a beautiful little timber yurt and a large dam.  I rang Gus and told him to meet me at the block at 3.00pm that day and I would give them first dibs.  I also added that if they didn’t buy this one then I would give up!!! :)) Wink Wink!  The good news is they just loved the land, bought it on the spot and Gus and Chris proceeded to build on of the most beautiful houses ever built in the valley.  There is nothing Gus can’t do when it comes to building.  It’s been wonderful having him working out at Wombat Hollow again.  He’s such a loyal and genuine friend.

Oh and I should mention, ME has been his offsider while I’ve been taking it easy on the deck.........see extra.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.