SightSinging

By SightSinging

Reborn

I wrote to my 95 year old aunt today ...
Auntie Enid , you will remember the very sad tale of the lemon squeezer that you and Uncle Brian gave S and I ( along with butter dishes, butter knives, jam dishes etc etc to replace your stainless steel casserole gift( we received about 5). That was 1969. Over the years it had become a bit pitted but the death knell was struck by the Fairy dish washer powder, rendering it badly and irreversibly oxidised...and me with grey hands every time I touched it. Our friend Tom Curran from Hastings , holidays over the road from Hermione Cottage and he has a powder coating business. Dean asked him if he could do anything with it...
” Certainly can “ said Tom “ What colour would she like ?” Dean planned to ask me but his wife suggested “Tickled Pink”. It sounded perfect to me and a fortnight later , Tom returned from Hastings just now with my ( now unique) brand “ new “
lemon squeezer , ready for another 50 years

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.