HClaireB

By HClaireB

Snowdrops

After struggling to find tiny snowdrop buds in my garden yesterday, I found drifts of snowdrops in flower in a local churchyard this morning (and a pink vibernum just finishing flowering).  Having not been shopping for a couple of weeks, we went to the lovely delicatessen in Watlington for essential supplies.  We took the opportunity to walk to the parish church of St Lawrence which is quite a way out of the centre of town.  It's largely Victorian now but there has been a church there for centuries and the churchyard is full of enormous yew trees.

I don't know who Phyllis Mary Lancaster was, but it's a lovely quote from E A Housman's "A Shropshire Lad":

“Lie you easy, dream you light,
And sleep you fast for aye;
And luckier may you find the night
Than ever you found the day.”

Walking back along the High Street I noticed an old wooden building called The Granary (extra).  If you look closely you will see that it still has staddle stones supporting it at the four corners, which previously would have prevented rats getting at the grain.  I blipped the old staddle stone in my garden a few weeks ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.