A bit of an adventure

I went for a forest walk in Espoo Central Park. The temperature was about -20 ° C (feels like -28 ° C) and in some places the snow was definitely over 50cm (well over the knee).

First I walked on a narrow trodden path until I decided to find a location where wild rosemary growing (which I have been looking for on two occasions, without finding). I got into solid snow and every step I took: how deep did will I sink?

I found what I was looking for and photographed the the plants. After taking the pictures, I decided to continue forward in the snow (so I didn’t go where I had come from).

I got to a place where I had to get up (rock below) and my feet slipped with the result that I slumped into the deep snow with my back on the snow. It didn't hurt myself because the landing was very soft, but for a moment I was puzzled as to how to get up from that pit, with a hand I couldn't help myself because the hand sank "endlessly."

I came up with the idea to spin my back around my own axle (which amused me a lot) so that I got my legs kind of downhill.
After a moment when I had been turning around, I got my feet down and from there I got on my knees and then up.


Luckily I wasn’t in any wilderness and also I had my phone. Still, it was a bit of a scary feeling, although there was certainly no real danger. In hindsight, a funny event.

Wild Rosemary in the two last extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.