Choices

A beautiful sharply crisp winters day - perfect for this saddest of anniversaries - a day when I know I need to lose myself in the wonder. Respecting rules or not I wouldn't have made it out of the village by vehicle today, black ice everywhere.
But fortunately I'd already a plan to wander up onto Knott and see if maybe there was an inversion to be found, or just lovely deep powder snow to let Missy be exuberant in. Somewhere familiar but special to spend a while in remembrance.
As we climbed the North flanks of this little local hill I knew we were climbing through the rising inversion and up into glory, it seemed fitting.

Today is the anniversary of losing Mum, a day I've never really acknowledged on blip until last year. For the longest time it's been a day I struggle to see the good in the world on, but over this last strangest of years I've been lucky enough to see a lot of the best of what people can be.
In all these words, over all this time, a year ago was the first time I wrote the word acceptance with anything other than contempt. It's not been lost on me that in doing so I've finally been able to acknowledge and accept so much more than just her loss.
I guess in the end its a choice, and today I'm choosing to remember and smile.


Philosophy Friday
We're never really alone. Let your inner voice speak and if you listen, really listen with your heart & soul....the universe answers back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.