Tough nut to crack

A long time mystery revealed itself to us this week.  We have finally paid off our mortgage (hoorah) and therefore received the house title deeds that have been with the bank for the last 25 years.

We have always known that one of the trees in our garden had a preservation order on it - and believed it was the yew tree (the only large/old one we have).  It dominated the garden and as our 3 little boys grew, they needed the outside room and I was anxious about the poisonous berries.  I probably would have cut it down if I'd thought I could...

It got so big that we finally asked to Parish Council if we could reduce it in 2018 ... and it turned out it didn't have a preservation order at all.  

Hmmm.

So with our new found deeds, maps and diagrams (see Martin in the extra) we could see that the tree that has the preservation order is actually in our neighbours garden and is a walnut tree!  (The land used to belong to this house plot hence the confusion).

I spoke to him about it today and he brought me some walnuts.  How great is that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.