Cladonia

A lovely start to the day with a soft pink sunrise but I was still at home at this time.  I met up with a friend for some exercise and photography on the local commons at 9.00am.  She had made the decision to turn up early so managed to see and capture the sunrise, one that certainly wasn't indicated by the weather forecast.  We were expecting a dry, calm grey day but the quality of light was much better with glimpses of soft sunlight.  Not much animal life around except for some ducks, but we did find some lichen and this macro shot shows the fruiting bodies of a Cladonia species maybe Cladonia mitis but I need to learn a bit more about identifying them.  We practiced some ICM shots and next walked around Bystock Ponds and then across the common to Squabmore Reservoir.  It was a very tranquil scene here with a few ducks gliding across the water in the soft light.  I could have stayed out all day but needed to return home for a supermarket delivery at midday.

In the afternoon I abandoned the idea of making sourdough and headed to the allotment where I dug up some more of the attractive looking orange oka tubers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.