Australasian Crested Grebe & babies! .....

..... ...... ..... on Lake Hayes.

I went out in my kayak today, the first time in months. It was a perfect day and an idyllic paddle; so lucky! And very lucky too that I saw several grebes, one of my favourite birds. This one has two babies on its back, which is why I'm posting it. It's not the best or sharpest image, but I'm delighted to have captured it regardless. There's a sharper one in Extras.

No, Missy didn't come out with me. But I did have her in the lake later in the afternoon, when it had cooled down from 30°C. She's very nearly swimming now and much more confident.

The Australasian crested grebe is majestic and distinctive diving bird that is usually seen on the southern lakes of New Zealand where it breeds. NZBirdsOnLine

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.