David_P

By David_P

Good morning!

One good thing about this time of year is that to photograph the sunrise you don't have to get out of bed at an unreasonable time.  This photo was taken at 8.18, twenty minutes before sunrise.  I had been watching the development of the colour in the sky for some time and believe that I caught it at its most spectacular.  I had zoomed in to 130 mm, thus concentrating on the most colourful part of the sky, but I do believe that the camera has exaggerated the colours somewhat.  The colours are as the camera saw them, they have not been edited.  (Extra has some editing)

To improve on sunrise photos I would need to find a scene with a subject that is more interesting than the big tree, but I was pleased enough to have struggled out the gate in PJs and dressing gown, onto the road in front of the house.  Prior knowledge of weather events likely to lead to a good sunrise, high pressure disappearing to the east to be replaced by low pressure, would allow me to get further afield to my preferred location.  A bit more homework on camera settings and white balance and I could produce the sunrise photo of the year.

The problem with all this is that I am an opportunist photographer who often finds that getting up early is quite disagreeable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.