The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

A Certain Age

I’ve decided I am proud of my age. Tomorrow I’ll be 78 years old. It has taken a few years to come to terms with being 70 and above. Now I’m just two years shy of 80. I feel more comfortable being old and can recognize in me and many of my friends a wisdom and inner calm that grows over time. I like being my age in many ways. I am much less worried about what others might think of me. And as I spend time with Shelly I can see myself laugh over things I might have been angry or annoyed about when I was younger. I can handle difficulties better than I used to. I know a big part of this is that I don’t have the responsibilities I used to. No job with requirements from an outside source instead of those I choose or make up for myself. My son is grown and has become a fine, creative and caring man. And I am amazingly lucky to have a partner, loving family and many friends who give my life happiness and meaning. And I share my life with two wonderful cats. And, knock wood, my health is good. I acknowledge how incredibly fortunate I am. Life is good. And I get to share my birthday with two great women, Betty White who is 21 years older than me, and Michele Obama who is 21 years younger. Wouldn’t it be cool if the three of us could have a chat about life? I’d love that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.