Avalanche

Friday's weather forecast was quite clear we would not have any snow until Sunday. Was looking forward to a day of rest, although I can't actually do much snow clearing as the snowblower/plough is broken.

Woke up to it snowing! No more than a few centimetres but still annoying. Angie worried about what was due Sunday, took off to Munich to visit her parents , her father is in a very bad place.

I took off in the car with Luna for the morning walk and intending to pop into the parish supermarket for a few things. Nice walk despite the snow, seeing a lovely old Unimog drive by (Extra photo). Back at car couldn't be bothered to go to shops and drove the 1 km home.

Boring, slight depressed day until police phoned to say my wallet had been found, and I should contact the finder 6 km away in Erkheim. He wasn't at home but said I could pick it up in the evening.

I was totally thrown! How did I lose it? Where? Lots of brain racking and then I remembered. On going out for walk, had put my wallet on the car roof (mumbling to myself "DON'T DO THAT") as I loaded Luna into the boot. So somewhere along the short drive to the walk, the wallet had landed on the road. The strange thing was it had been found a kilometer or so on the other side of the village!

In the evening, packed Luna in the car again, we drove to Erkheim did a good walk there and then picked up the wallet. The man had seen something strange on the road looking like an injured bird (wallet is black). I was sure the money notes would be gone but lo and behold €50 and €20 notes were there. All that was missing was my German ADAC (AA/AAA equivalent) motorists organisation card and a few Euros worth of coins. All bank/VISA, ID, Driving Licence, Health, Pension etc cards
were there!

In Germany there is an official or at least semi-official "Finders Fee" system. The policeman had 'reminded' me on the phone it would be good to reward the finder! I tried to give him the €50 note, he refused. Eventually persuaded him to accept the €20.

Restores one's faith that there is good in the world.

(On the main photo, can see how some of the snow has avalanched off the roof when it was a bit warmer the day before and why above the front door there is a barrier to prevent that happening as you leave the house! No chance of PV producing any electricity for a while.)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.