Finding My Bearings

By JustJuli

Emergency medical aid!

My friend’s 18-year-old daughter works in a care home and had two COVID tests on Tuesday - a rapid flow test which immediately showed negative and a PCR one, which would take two or three days for the result to come through. She unfortunately started having COVID symptoms on Thursday and yesterday got the PCR result which showed that she was already infected on Tuesday, despite the rapid test saying otherwise. I’ve already voiced my concerns at my school that these quick tests are completely useless but that’s a story for another time...

She is really very ill and the whole family now has to isolate so I ran round to the pharmacy first thing this morning to get them a supply of liquid paracetamol and Lucozade (and took the opportunity to re-stock our own medicine cupboard).

I feel so worried for them but all I can do is remain on stand-by should they need anything else and keep my fingers crossed that the daughter recovers quickly... and that her parents don’t catch it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.