Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Turkey tail?

I really am becoming bored with our available walks. For so much of the last 10 months we seem to have been limited to ‘exercise from home’ here in Wales. I know I really should be grateful that we have so much within walking distance; we’re  better off than most. 

Bless my husband - he manages to find a slightly different route for us to explore, and we trample through the very muddy woods above our house, heading west. Our walk is accompanied by the sound of woodpeckers and, bizarrely, of sea lions from the Welsh Mountain Zoo which is close by. 

Blip opportunities abound - lots to come back for. Tree stumps and broken boughs drip with moisture - an ideal spot for fungi. I spot one fallen tree that seems to have been completely edged with orange frills, choosing one adorned  branch as my blip for today. 

Back home, I try to identify it: turkey tail. I hope this is correct, as it certainly suits the appearance. But, as I read on I discover it may be false turkey tail, it’s orange hue indicating it is only an imposter....... 

(To be honest, I actually prefer the ‘extra’ blip, but used this one as I like the way the fungus surrounds the branch.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.