Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Guide

This is one of my favourite old guide stones on the higher moors. Today it marked the furthest point of my walk out from home. In normal times I'd do this as a one way walk over to Ilkley and get the train home, but for now I'm improvising return loops.

I have learned from one online source that while the practice of waymarking is ancient, stones like these were formalised by an Act of William II in 1697 which decreed that in remote spots, where two or more paths met, local surveyors should erect a marker showing direction to the nearest market towns.

It was good to have an extended walk. Most of the snow has gone but the ground is understandably sodden and most of the moorland paths were bogs or rivers. It meant that much of the walking was a bit of a trudge but my wellies kept my feet dry.

On the final stretch home I paused at the cabins where the barn owl pair were hunting. A kestrel was covering the same patch and there were a few comings together.

In extras, a distant Barney, and some bog ice pareidolia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.