Ink Polaroids

By inkpolaroids

¶ First Snow Of The Year

Yeah, so that came and went yesterday. Typical me, a day behind the rest of the action. It was a wee bit sickening to see all those lovely snowy images of Amsterdam and me, stuck in the 'burbs. So I was hoping to get into town today to make something of what was left of the snow and fill up my back catalogue of images for Insta.

Alas, when I woke up this morning, admittedly far too late, all the snow had gone, so I ended up going to the Hembrugterrein where I got this image of a snowman, more like some kind of Voodoo Snowman, but snow nontheless.

So, Hembrug is basically an old abandonded munitions factory on the outskirts of Amsterdam (best place for an ammunitions factory, if you ask me) that is slowly being turned into one of those places that's full of trendy workshops and artisan cafes and the like. It's still got some way to go as quite a few of the buildings are still surrounded by large fences with spikey bits all along the top, and signs saying things like "Asbestos", "Keep Out" and "Don't Even Think About It, Fatso".

Ok, maybe not that last one.

But if you're into deeply depressing urban photography like I am, it's heaven. All abandoned and depressed and urban, I shot 600+ images and blasted through three batteries. A nice haul then, and a nice day out. I was hoping K. would come along, but she was busy so couldn't make it
.
Then home and tea and probably later on this evening something from Netflix. Best start looking now if I want to get to bed before 3am.

And then work in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.