La vida de Annie

By Annie

Cerca de la cala.

Tier 4 day 2.
Official title "Situation of extreme risk level 4", previously only high risk. Lots of new cases still arising as a result of parties in private homes over the "festive" season, and despite no tourists coming in (PLEASE stay away!!!).
Buster is doing OK, although stick-thin and not much energy. We started to walk him round the block, but he struggled halfway so had to be taken back. I had the taste for a walk though so continued alone on to the marina and back along the cala. I forgot how totally unfit I've become, and how my balance issues have worsened, so had a bit of a panic about falling off some of the steep sections of pathway high above the rocks and water. Also panicked when a big family group came walking towards me, mostly without masks or not wearing them properly, and with kids darting around the one-person-width track. Luckily I reached one of the jetties before they did, so was able to walk onto that with my back towards them. Once upon a time this would have been highly antisocial behaviour, but now it seems normal to treat others as plague-carrying zombies. At least I managed to scale the steps (2nd extra) without falling or meeting anyone, and got back safely though feeling a bit shaken-up. I hadn't realised my balance had deteriorated so much and it makes me feel old. I read somewhere once that very old people often fall over because they start to lean without realising it, and can continue falling over before there's time to remedy it. I do know that when I'm tired (most days) I can't always work out if I'm putting my foot down on level ground or a slope, or worse, loose gravel on a slope. Rocks are even more difficult, as is going down steps, as my depth perception isn't great. Brain damage sucks, but getting old as well is a double bummer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.