Haworth Street

I've just started a brand new project with the Civic Arts Centre in Oswaldtwistle. I'm working with a street near the centre, to photograph the people who live there as part of the 'Doorstep Arts' project.

I dropped off introductory letters last week to everyone on my chosen patch, 'Haworth Street', and today was my first day of knocking on doors. As it's half term, there were lots of people out, and I'm planning to visit on different days at various times so I hopefully manage to speak to as many people as possible. I'm also working with young people and teachers from the school on the street later in the project too.

This lady was happy to chat to me about herself and showed my a photo of her new great grand daughter who is just a few weeks old. She's lived on the street for nearly 50 years, and is 86. She said she hadn't had anyone taking her photo for years, and when I showed her how they looked she was quite pleased that they were okay, and happy for me to use them for my exhibition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.