It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Heron Morning

I made a point to get out the house early today. I’ve missed my morning swims or walks. I’m a daylight & warmth person rather than a night and cold one. But half the weekend, I’ve been daydreaming of moving to the Hebrides, away from the city and closer to nature.

My head is such that I’m often hyper-stimulated to what is going on around me. But that stimulation sometimes becomes too much, especially when surrounded by people, noise and traffic. Rather, I’m happiest and most content when near the sea or in the hills, preferably away from people.

But the good thing about photography is that I can lose myself, in which I’m alert to things that interest me, whilst being totally oblivious to distractions (unless it’s a landscape picture in which a person gets in frame). I didn’t have much time from first light until my first meeting though. Thankfully, the tide was sufficiently out for the herons to be roosting by the Old Chain Pier. I really liked this young one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.