Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Wild Lesser Perriwinkle

I always hate this day  in January. It is the day when I cannot put off for another second the fact that my tax return needs completing. As usual, I couldn't find all the information I needed, so I sighed and moaned my way through the morning trying to contact organisations operating with a  skeleton staff.
It was therefore a relief to go out for the daily exercise, even if it was just to trudge up the same old lane in the rain. I saw this little Perriwinkle hiding in the hedgerow,  I was surprised to learn that it is known as "the flower of death", because in the 17thC people would carry it to the gallows.
For me though it represented success. The success of having completed another tax return for another year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.