Changeable

Work started on creating a vermin- and damp proof room at the end of our barn today. I really didn't envy the workmen; the skies chucked (occasionally solid white stuff) and the wind wailed. Mind you, they had a chimney job to finish elsewhere but came to us instead so I suppose at least they were largely indoors.

But we also had spells of reasonable weather too. Very changeable.

LH reconstructed a little bookcase we brought back from Dad's. My Great Grandpa made it out of good, solid oak and it is designed to be transportable with the shelves held together using pegs. Unfortunately, it's been rather neglected and had watermarks and a lump of glue, we think so I've spent quite a bit of time on it today giving it more polish than it's had in many years. I need to go over the stains with more robust wire wool though. On the list.

I also had a go at polishing a couple of little brass bits I brought back. One is a set of letter scales that have sat on the side in my parents' homes for a long as I can remember. As a child I only recall the imperial weights that went with them but I discovered some little metric ones had been acquired and fully intend to use the things. Quite a fiddle to polish 1g weights though, and 50g wasn't that big either!

I've decided that I need to calm down a bit and give myself time off occasionally, so I read for a couple of hours. It was wonderful :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.