The Grass Is Blue On Blue Monday

I was half listening to/watching a programme the other day about Dolly Parton, who is seventy-five tomorrow. She was talking about how she wrote her song The Grass Is Blue at the time she had branched out into singing in the bluegrass style. It tells of coping with the pain of a breakup by pretending the opposite is true.

"Rivers flow backwards and my tears are dry
Swans hate the water and eagles can't fly
Oh, but I'm alright now, now that I'm over you
And the sky is green
And the grass is blue
Oh, and I..., I don't love you
And the grass is... blue"

I wonder if Elizabeth Arden's Blue Grass fragrance smells grassy? Before I met MrQ he used to buy presentation boxes of it in bulk at Christmas for his various lady friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.