Tuesday's painting...

...Yesterday a stressful day. 
I had insurance to deal with first. I needed to ask questions and couldn't use the phone to do so (deafness precludes that), nor to pay over the phone for same reason. It is a very small local insurance brokers, and they have always been good.

Came back home, got out of car, walked back to bungalow. 
OMG. 
Slipping roof tiles down my roof. 
Texted roofer. He got back to me midday. And could come at 3pm. 
Heart sank because he wouldn't be able to do that job today, would he?
I'm overly stressed. Cannot do anything. Sit by window to watch arrival of roofer. I don't want to miss him. 
But he texted from his van when he arrived. He always does that.
He assesses roof. Tells me I need that dry verge system for tiles. Because they have slipped with the bad weather we get and it caused tiles further back to slip. He has said this a couple of years ago, and I had said no, just fix the tiles. This time I said yes. We negotiated a price. 
I will do it now because the weather is going to turn he says.
Half hour later he is back with the stuff. The light is going. They fix the tiles on the roof. Then install this dry verge system. The pair of them work like Trojans. 
I take my torch out to see it. Looks good.
I pay him. Thank him and his mate.

This morning, we already have winds and driving rain.
I am sending up thank you prayers for yesterday.

I am poorer by over half a grand from yesterday with insurance and roof. I need to rejiggle finances which don't exist....

I am grateful for a roof to keep me dry.

I need a day to recuperate...to hibernate...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.