Two in one

This is a photo within a photo - two blips in one.

One
The photo on the screen is the pile of huge pipes that arrived in the field today. The guys from yesterday were back with their digger. Some serious land drainage work going on. I felt sorry for them, as it has rained non-stop all day. They have dug a big hole and have stood around considering it. 

Two
This is a photo of my computer - my iMac, my pride and joy. I spend a lot of time on this and love it to bits. I have always been fascinated by computers, right from when we had one of the Sinclair ZX Spectrums and used to key in games that would allow you to catch elephants as they dropped from the sky. I was thrilled when I discovered word processing by computer and this was well before the Internet appeared. 

Never once in all those years had it ever occurred to me that the word Computer was originally used, as early as the 17th century, to describe a person who made computations, just as a person who made calculations was a Calculator. Maybe I am the only person who had not realised this. 

 
Word of the Day courtesy of Susie Dent - Computer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.