Weather-wise

Although it didn't stop raining all day I walked to the coast with the dog, aiming to go as far as the ponies. There are 6 of them over-wintering out  here. They don't get any upkeep in the way of coats or fodder.
I expected to find them sheltering  inland from the coast but they were right down above the sea, where the land dips sharply down towards the cliffs. I realised that it was actually the most sheltered area as the wind was coming from the SW and they were on a northern slope. No fools.

I'm always  interested in how these outdoor horses  keep warm (and I wrote a long blip about it a few years ago here). Their coats seem so inadequate for the purpose once saturated (see extra) but I realised, as they kept on cropping and munching  the coarse grass, that the need to take fuel on board is key.  
I was reminded of the fact that the verb ' to starve' originally meant 'to die from the cold' and in some parts of the UK (Yorkshire, Northern Ireland) 'I'm starving' still means 'I'm freezing cold'.
Evidently these ponies are neither.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.