whaa

By whaa

Triandrun

I've been getting into road cycling recently. As the temperature rises and the nights get longer, it's far better being outside than in a sweaty gym. 30 miles on Friday, 15 on Sunday and another 17 last night... it's a great feeling to get straight off my commuting bike and onto a road bike and head out into Northumberland. I live to the north of Newcastle, so after 15mins riding I can escape urbanisation and be on quiet roads.

It's been a bit of an ordeal getting this bike up and running though. My brother in law, a serious cyclist, gave me this bike to use at Xmas. "It just needs a bit of work," he said. Hmmm, well ... a new bottom bracket, crackset, headset bearings, pedals, brake pads, cassette, chain, handlebar tape, tyres and tubes later - it's sorted! ;-)

But i'm on the road, enjoying it and feeling good for all the exercise. My only concern now is that a mate of mine is encouraging me to enter 100mile rides over the summer. Gulp!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.