Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Nevada Mountains

When I plan to spend time in the field, I usually take my laptop and a large portable drive.  I generally have the files for my research on the large portable drive, since they are large files and my laptop has a small solid state drive.  Last night, when I got my laptop set up, and plugged in my large portable drive, all of my files were missing!  Panic!  I disconnected everything, shut down my computer, reconnected everything and started it all up again.  Nothing!  AHHHHHH!  No matter what I did, my files were gone.  

I generally back up everything at least weekly to another large drive that I leave at home.  And many times, I upload many of my files to a secure drive in the "cloud".  But, as things would happen, I failed to upload the files to the cloud.  

But, thankfully, I had backed up my files before I left to my large drive at home.  Unfortunately, it meant driving all the way back home.  

So, I was up fairly early and started the long drive home.  And, as I expected it was very cold and windy, but no dust storm this time.  

The first thing I did was check my large drive to make sure my files were there.  They were.  I then promptly uploaded them to the cloud.  

But, now there isn't time to drive all the way out east again and do what I need to do this week.  It will have to wait until next week.  Sigh! 

View large!

Also, because of the poor internet the last couple of days, I just backblipped Sunday and Monday's photos.  Please take a look.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.