TrishaR

By TrishaR

Waaay Back ...

May 1982 to be precise. Laura is 5 months old and a chubby baldy - baldy till almost 2 then really thick hair also lost the weight when she walked at 10 months. I am 24, I wore this dress a lot after the birth as it was loose. Didn’t have much in the way of any clothes over a 10 in those days of skinny.

The trees are still bare. We had the most horrendous winter in 1981/82. Laura was born as a blizzard raged and the electricity in the hospital went off at one stage and a lull till the emergency generator kicked in! There was ice in the inside of our flat I remember melting it with a hairdryer. The pipes froze, I had to get an emergency D&C a week after her birth as I started haemorrhaging blood when I went to the loo during the night. My then husband said ‘oh it’s fine it will stop’!! Idiot! We didn’t have a telephone then and I ordered him to get out and call the hospital to check what to do from the local pay phone, as I sat on the loo with blood dripping out of me . I was told to come in immediately and was given the operation as there was a bit of placenta left in me after the birth.

But hey, it all worked out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.