South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Memories!

I was doing some sorting out this afternoon and came across some old polaroid photos of me taken by my Mum in 1974.  I remember she put my bridesmaid’s bouquet in the fridge to preserve it and then got me to pose the next day after my friend’s wedding for a few photos.  (She also took photos of me in my bridal dress in 1981 in the garden a couple of weeks after my wedding.  On that occasion my ‘bouquet’ was some hydrangeas she picked from the garden! I am very glad that she did this as the official photographer was in a rush and the train of my dress was never properly photographed).

We spent the later afternoon watching the inauguration of Joe Biden as President.  So nice to hear wonderful, conciliatory words instead of the hateful messages and self-aggrandisement that we’ve heard over the last four years.  The moment of silent prayer for Covid victims and their families was long overdue.  And the poem written and read by the young poet was absolutely amazing...we thoroughly appreciated all of the ceremony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.