Adam's Images

By ajt

DNS and BIND

I bought this book when it was fairly new, so some time shortly after 1999, and used it to set up my own domain properly with BIND on Debian GNU/Linux. I've not used the book much since, as it just works... Recent upgraded have made me think it's time to update things, and I also have the electronic version of this (later edition), but there is an even newer book by the same author which is probably what I need. Annoyingly I only need to set this up once, and then leave it alone for another 20 years, so I probably won't be buying the latest edition, when I can probably manage with what I have and a bit of Googling....

DNS = Domain Name Service (what turns names into IP addresses and vice-a-versa)
BIND = Berkeley Internet Name Domain (BIND is the de facto program used on any Unix/Linux system to provide the naming service.)

No stamps today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.