Today's Special

By Connections

A Joyful Noise!

Right after Joe Biden was inaugurated as the 46th President of the United States of America, I took the handbell in this photo to our back door, opened the door, and let my joy be known through its joyous sound!

I think my maternal grandmother, Evelyn St. Clair Werth, would have approved of my actions. This handbell came from the house built in southwest Virginia1838 by her great-grandfather. (See more about it here.) Known as "Memie" to her 14 grandchildren, she regaled us with stories about her childhood on the farm. 

Her older half sister, Mary Margaret St. Clair, known as "B" to the family, made lunch for the field hands, and used this handbell to let them know that their meal was ready. That's what I remember Memie telling us... but I have a hunch that "B" might have used it to call the family members to the table. 

No matter what the truth is about the handbell, I was delighted to use it today to celebrate the return of sanity, science, intelligence, thoughtfulness, fairness, and myriad other good qualities to the highest levels of my country's government. 

What a difference today was from the scenes at the U.S. Capitol two weeks ago! I now have hope for the future.

Blip 2150

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.