La vida de Annie

By Annie

Descansa en paz, dulce perrito.

Tier 4 day 5.
We collected Buster from the vet this morning, brought him home and buried him in a pre-dug hole behind the shed where he liked to go for the shade. In with him I put his harness, to represent his love of walks, his last chewbone which he enjoyed in the evenings, and his favourite snuggly toy, Duckie, which had seen better days but was a great comfort to him. The note was a last minute addition, more for me than him as being a dog he couldn't read of course. My writing is usually much neater but my hand was shaking a lot.
Extra is some temporary decoration for the site until I can think of something better. I couldn't put a plant on top as the ground is just grit and sandy rubble, and a pot would have been ransacked by next-door's many cats. Instead I put a big pot saucer there and put pretty stones in it from our walks, a candle in a glass and a random pottery sheep which was here when we moved in. I also stuck in some big metal outdoor flowers which I'd grabbed from the supermarket on the way back from the vet's. It may look a bit random but I may change it in time when I have the energy. Today it's depleted.
In other news, welcome President Biden! You have a huge challenge ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.