Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

This is one of mine. One of those who grew up in the greenhouse last year. I actually sowed 6 seeds a year and 5 days ago, if I'm not misstaken. Such a joy to see them grow up and then take 4 of them home. This one is growing nicely and sprouting new leaves at the stem. Makes me so happy to see. :)

I'm making plans for the year ahead. I need to consider that this tiredness I'm feeling isn't going away any time soon, so I need to work around it and still feel like I'm doing stuff instead of just resting. I need to give my home a good cleaning and since tidying up for just 30 minutes took a large part of my energy even for the next day, I'm thinking tidying up 15 minutes/day. Sounds ridiculous, but that's how I need to do it.

I'm turning 50 in a couple of weeks and since my family have wondered on several occasions what I want for my birthday I gave it a good ponder. I thought of things that would be good to have in the kitchen, but realised that I have no space for large kitchen machines and what I have is good enough for making bread and food. My cousin on my mothers side asked about my photo interest and even though my camera is 14 years now, it still works fine. I've also learned how to work around the old technique. And, for that matter, a DSLR is far to expensive (in my eyes) for a birthday present even if there are a bunch of people coming together.
I'd sent him a photo I took of the Jupiter/Saturn meeting and suddenly we realised that we both have an interest for the sky! I didn't know that about him. That made me think... and google and I saw this amateur telescope package and thought Bingo! I've been wanting a telescope for so long I'd forgotten about it... I sent a message to another cousin (on my fathers side) and asked her what she thought and she thought it brilliant. Then I spoke with mum and she thought it would be a silver lining for me. I will buy equipment later, so that I can take photos with my DSLR connected to the telescope (just imagine the photos!!), but that comes later. First I'm going to enjoy the sky with stars, planets and galaxies. :)
The snag is that the company selling the telescope don't know when it'll be available and that's because of the pandemic. I don't mind the wait though. :)  
And, the perfect thing is that both my cousins can enjoy this telescope with me. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.