Queen of the Night

This is an orchid cactus. It's native to the rainforests of Mexico. It's called Queen of the Night because it only opens at night. This is its second blooming since we've had it and until tonight I hadn't seen it open. What a surprise and it's perfume is nothing short of heady.

Some of you have already visited my journal today. This is clearly an update and what I'd posted as a main earlier is now the extra.

Pardon me for being a bit excited. :-))

Our friend K who decided to move back to Western Australia gave it to us having no idea what it was. Neither did we. We put it on the table on the back verandah and since then it's thrived on neglect. But now that I've researched its needs, I'll get M to put it in a bigger pot, for starters. I hope we'll get many more blooms, even if we have to venture out in the dark of night to see them.

Thanks for hosting BikerBear. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.