Local Windmill, Katwijk-Linden

This windmill has no name and is standing at the edge of a factory complex enclosed by a fence, and you need to speak into the intercom if you want to gain access inside, which I thought wasn't necessary as the mill was fairly easy to shoot from outside the fence.  Not bad for a side-view, I think, but there was just no way to get a frontal shot.  Location tagged.

Katwijk sounds like 'KAT-wike'.  'Wike' rhymes with 'dike'.
Etymologically, the Dutch 'wike' or 'wijk' is where Old English got its 'wich'.  So, applying this lesson, can you tell where 'Sandwich' comes from?  Right -- 'sandwike' or, to Dutchify this even more, 'zandwijk' = area with a lot of sand.  Later on, the 'w' sound disappears even while the spelling remains the same, so we get names like 'Greenwich' and 'Norwich'.  But now... enough lessons.

Fairly sunny in some parts today, so off I went.  After about an hour back home for some tea and genealogy, left to bring my KIA for her annual APK (MOT).  The garage asked me if there was anything in particular I noticed that might need repair.  Yea, I said, can you help me set my radio channels?  1 on 1, Sky on 2, Q on 3, 4 on 4, 5 on 5, and 6 is allowed to stay the way it is.  I am now also starting to look around for a new car.  Not for this year, yet, oh no, but the time is fast approaching when Carmela might no longer be allowed on the road.  I'm giving her another year or two.  She has now covered 525,847 km., which is a grand number and I'm proud of her, but she's also a diesel and old diesels need to be retired eventually, especially as there are now more environment-friendly ones.  I will miss her when that time comes as she has been a faithful friend, companion, sleeping bunk, meditation lab, and sounding board.

AW left for live bridge at Sweed's because Sweed and Benna won't be available tomorrow evening, and I wonder if they'll fix things for the curfew, which will start on Saturday, 21.00 to 04.30 till 09 February.  It will be an option to play during the day instead.  The rest of the evening was spent on research.  As far as that is concerned, no blame for hardly doing any of it last year, as last year was a strange and surreal time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.