Freckles

It was grey and overcast for my local walk through Thorpe Hall down to the Rowing Lake, which is now one with the river, very much limiting access. The swans, black-headed gulls and cormorants were all enjoying the additional habitat and lack of walkers.

On my way back I spent a bit of time looking at mosses on the huge limestone wall surrounding the mansion. I was specially pleased to see the cheerful freckled flowers of Clematis cirrhosa, also known as Early Virgins' Bower, draped down over the top of the wall. 

This species is a  native of Southern Europe and the Mediterranean. It's evergreen and grow best against a south facing wall, on a tub on a patio or in a place where there is protection from frost - this spot certainly suits it as it has put forth its delightfully fragrant flowers for many years. I've tried to establish it in our garden, but it doesn't like our sticky clay soil and gradually declines after the first year. I'll just carry on enjoying this one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.