JessAndNatsDad

By JessAndNatsDad

Snowdrops

I'm using my Nikon D5000 with a macro lens. It's taken me a while to get a half decent shot (in the garden BTW). Because it's so convenient using an iPhone as a camera the big DSLR doesn't get enough usage and so I'm not learning as many of the myriad features (and/or the space between outings means that I may have forgotten what I learned last time). Anyway I know enough from the good old days of my Asahi Pentax Spotmatic (which I still own) regarding f-stops, depth of field and shutter speed to work out that the best thing to do would be to put the camera on a tripod at low level, use a high f stop to get a reasonable depth of field (remember this is a macro lens so at close quarters it's going to be more difficult to get depth of field) but then have a slow shutter speed (hence the tripod). I'm much happier with this result compared to earlier attempts just going by auto settings! 

Note to self: try to use this camera more for these Blipfotos - I'll get more experience and improve my understanding of the features and settings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.