SilverImages

By SilverImages

Derfel Gadarn

"Archaeology holds all the keys to understanding who we are and where we come from."  Sarah Parcak

I decided on something a bit 'special' for my 500th entry, a visit to 'my' mountain to find the remains of an old chapel. Despite having been born in the valley and playing endlessly on the mountainside during my early years, and walking it on many occasions since, it still has the ability to surprise. I was aware there was an old pilgrims route (from Llantarnam Abbey to Penrhys)  from waymarkers and footpath signs, and I'd even walked the early part of the route on several occasions, but it was only relatively recently that I saw reference to the old chapel. I'd sort of been vaguely looking for it when I went up to the old quarry and reservoir last Sunday, but saw no obvious signs. Today I was determined to find it and prepared by looking at old maps and Google Earth. Even so I nearly missed it, but was alerted by rather strange disembodied voices chattering, then two youngsters emerged from a hidden sunken lane nearby - I'd found it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.