Extra Special

Another sunny morning.   Sunny but cold.   Returning from walking Meg I had a short window of sunshine for appreciating the flowers in the cold frames.   Even more special than yesterday's offering, this is definitely the rarest crocus I grow.   It's a seedling of my own raising, a chance hybrid or a genetic mutation of Crocus atticus.   This is the only one.    There are two other shoots in the pot but after the upheaval of the last couple of years I don't know if these are offset corms or imposters.   It's special because Crocus atticus is almost always lavender blue in colour.  There is one yellow flowered clone in cultivation, called 'Midas Touch' but I have never grown that. So my plant, whose wild origins I can trace back though two generations of my own raising, is highly unusual.   It's also a beauty.

The extra pic shows the flooding north of Tywyn, vast areas that were once tidal under water once again.

This afternoon I planted seed of alpines and bulbs - yes including a few crocuses - and potted on sweet pea seedlings and a couple of rooted salvia cuttings.    A productive kind of day.   Movie night with Jamie now.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.