Dereliction preserved

Almost one year ago exactly, on 12 January 2020, I posted a photo of the building in my main for derelict Sunday. It must therefore have been my twelfth ever Blip. As an extra today, I have posted a detail of that photo, which roughly corresponds to my today's Blip.

How it's changed, and how it's the same. The building has been totally renovated and turned into units. Look closely at the door in both. It's the same door but the earlier version is covered in paint, even the porthole. I don't know if the copper in today's version is original but if not, the stylists have made it distressed. Note the graffiti around the door. Today's photo shows the same white curves on the left and the same blue curves on the right.

I don't mind this approach. After all, this is Newtown. No way it hasn't been gentrified, but we still like to pay tribute to grunge. Anyway, failure to bring the bins in is the real deal.

Thanks for hosting Marlieske. Stay well all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.