Life's tangled skein

By atp

2016-11-16 (Day 321)

There is a field near my office which has become a magnet for these birds. They sit on the ground in their hundreds; they were there yesterday as I drove to work, and when I saw them there again today I decided to stop and take a picture.

I parked across the road from them and walked towards the field. Just like yesterday, they sat on the ground until I got maybe five yards from the field's gate. But as I approached the first few - those closest to me - took off into the air.

The rest followed suit, climbing into the sky in waves - even those tens of metres from me joined in - until the sky was black with the birds.

I walked back to the car and drove to the office - I have no idea whether they settled down and returned to the field. I do hope I haven't scared them away...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.